America Reads Day

Being that Memorial Day is tomorrow its seems fitting to talk about America Reads Day. America Reads is a day when volunteers, mostly moms and dads, come into school and read a book to the class. This is popular among elementary schools and its a fun way to get kids interested in reading. I remember looking forward to this day every year because my parents always came to read and I usually helped them pick out the book beforehand. This is a great way to get kids excited about reading at a young age and I hope schools continue to participate in this event. Someday I would like to be able to read for my kids’ class. If this is something you might want to do, ask your local elementary school and get involved because I’m sure they are always looking for more volunteers!

 

Leave a comment